Page 1 of 1

Auto resolution change with LG OLED C8

Posted: 02 Jan 2019, 18:28
by cosmoxl
It seems the EDID reports only 1080 and 2160 resolutions are supported so MrMC no longer changes resolution to 720p like it did for my old TV. Any way to force this option? For I know the TV will take a 720p signal if changed manually.

Re: Auto resolution change with LG OLED C8

Posted: 02 Jan 2019, 18:32
by davilla
cosmoxl wrote:
02 Jan 2019, 18:28
It seems the EDID reports only 1080 and 2160 resolutions are supported so MrMC no longer changes resolution to 720p like it did for my old TV. Any way to force this option? For I know the TV will take a 720p signal if changed manually.
Nope, If Android does not report it, there is no way to change to it.

Re: Auto resolution change with LG OLED C8

Posted: 02 Jan 2019, 19:17
by cosmoxl
I found the problem.

I'm using the 7.2.2 test build, though I don't know if that's the cause.

What I found is that if I disable the recommended resolution and select an HDMI mode manually then all the resolution options are shown in MrMC and it switches as expected.

Re: Auto resolution change with LG OLED C8

Posted: 04 Jan 2019, 10:09
by koying
Not sure if that's still the case, but on previous shield firmwares, you got a different list of resolutions depending on the colorspace you choose in the shield settings.

IIRC, you only got the full list in rec-2020 / 12 bits.

Re: Auto resolution change with LG OLED C8

Posted: 04 Mar 2019, 03:01
by Ghostm
I am a new mrmc user, i just purchased it on the shield and apple tv 4k.

Very confused by this post, when you mention

"
What I found is that if I disable the recommended resolution and select an HDMI mode manually then all the resolution options are shown in MrMC and it switches as expected."

Where are the resolution options shown in mrmc? From memory i see resolutions only listed in the gui settings, and for that going from memory i have 1080p, 4k, auto, or unlimited.

This is also whats shown on the shield when you go to display, however if i go to advanced, and hdmi modes, and use those filtering options and set the resolution manually, mrmc then does not switch, it stays in the manually selected resolution. It lists like 85 modes including 720p in this menu.

If i use the recommended setting in the previous menu, mrmc switches fine and switches to 1080p content but it will not switch to 720p, seems to be alot of confusion on this, and i did not think auto resolution for 720p switching was possible on the shield? But it seems you say you can?

Re: Auto resolution change with LG OLED C8

Posted: 04 Mar 2019, 13:36
by cosmoxl
Ghostm wrote:
04 Mar 2019, 03:01
I am a new mrmc user, i just purchased it on the shield and apple tv 4k.

Very confused by this post, when you mention

"
What I found is that if I disable the recommended resolution and select an HDMI mode manually then all the resolution options are shown in MrMC and it switches as expected."

Where are the resolution options shown in mrmc? From memory i see resolutions only listed in the gui settings, and for that going from memory i have 1080p, 4k, auto, or unlimited.

This is also whats shown on the shield when you go to display, however if i go to advanced, and hdmi modes, and use those filtering options and set the resolution manually, mrmc then does not switch, it stays in the manually selected resolution. It lists like 85 modes including 720p in this menu.

If i use the recommended setting in the previous menu, mrmc switches fine and switches to 1080p content but it will not switch to 720p, seems to be alot of confusion on this, and i did not think auto resolution for 720p switching was possible on the shield? But it seems you say you can?
I was speaking of disabling the shield's recommended resolution, in HDMI modes, and setting one manually.

Manually set your resolution to 59.94fps, 4k, rec2020, 12bit and then MrMC will switch from 4k to 1080p and 720p when needed. That's what I've found.

However, I've turned on the "colorimetry" in the developer options which means the OS will also auto switch color gamut depending on the source video. This is a very nice feature.

Maybe that's why mine works the way it does. To enable developers options: Go to Settings > About > Build > Click 7 times on build to become a developer (you will see a toast which will say you are now a developer)

Then, go to Settings > Developer Options > Colorimetry (set toggle to ON) > restart device for changes to take effect


Re: Auto resolution change with LG OLED C8

Posted: 05 Mar 2019, 04:56
by Ghostm
Yup working now, looks like 4:2:2 12 bit needed to be selected, not sure why but it works now auto switching to 720p as well.

Re: Auto resolution change with LG OLED C8

Posted: 19 Mar 2019, 20:42
by cat6man
has anyone experimented with an EDID box that would tell the shield that it supported EDIDs a/b/c/d/e/f, etc?