1. No user installed addons are supported, python or otherwise.
2. No, they really are not supported.
3. They are not coming back
4. Read from 1. again

Any mention of illegal streaming sites, addons or any pirated material will not be tolerated. This is not democracy and any offenders will be banned and posts deleted immediately without warning.

Other than that, we hope you enjoy MrMC so far and we welcome any input and feedback you might have.

Team MrMC.

Sony Android TV Passthrough

Any issues that are Nvidia Shield TV specific
barong
Posts: 77
Joined: 07 Nov 2017, 07:33

Re: Sony Android TV Passthrough

Post by barong » 12 Jun 2018, 10:36

amet wrote:
12 Jun 2018, 09:57
barong wrote:
09 Jun 2018, 01:56
Hi @koying
Just wondering if there has been any update on this. Tossing up between running MrMC on my Sony TV or Apple TV 4K.
I’d prefer to just use the TV, but can’t at the moment as passthrough isn’t working.
just be be clear, passthrough is not working on Apple TV since 11.2
I was aware, but 7.1 channel LPCM still works I presume.
With the inbuilt app, the TV can’t send multichannel PCM out via ARC.
As pass through isn’t working correctly on the TV app, this leads to a loss of surround sound.

User avatar
amet
Team MrMC
Posts: 2767
Joined: 26 Oct 2015, 16:59
Location: Dubai/Novi Sad

Re: Sony Android TV Passthrough

Post by amet » 12 Jun 2018, 10:49

Lpcm works 100%, I was just pointing out that atv also has passthrough issues

User avatar
koying
Team MrMC
Posts: 389
Joined: 20 Mar 2016, 17:49

Re: Sony Android TV Passthrough

Post by koying » 12 Jun 2018, 10:53

@barong Are you on testflight?
I think (thought) that I fixed it there...

barong
Posts: 77
Joined: 07 Nov 2017, 07:33

Re: Sony Android TV Passthrough

Post by barong » 12 Jun 2018, 13:16

@koying yes, in the TestFlight for Android.
I also requested for TVOS but don’t think I got through.

Is the “lite” version also updated at the same time.
Last time I tried I still had the audio issue. That was near the start of the test flight.
Can you confirm the current TF android version, I’ll check what version is installing tomorrow.

@amet thanks. I’m not worried about seeing the dd/dts light on my AVR. Just happy to have multi channel audio :)

User avatar
koying
Team MrMC
Posts: 389
Joined: 20 Mar 2016, 17:49

Re: Sony Android TV Passthrough

Post by koying » 12 Jun 2018, 13:23

No, lite versions have no testflight.
The latest TF is from yesterday.

barong
Posts: 77
Joined: 07 Nov 2017, 07:33

Re: Sony Android TV Passthrough

Post by barong » 12 Jun 2018, 13:49

OK - tested with the latest TF dated yesterday on the Play Store (10/6 in the System Info screen).

With IEC Packed Ticked:
No Dolby Digital
DTS plays

With IEC un-ticked:
Dolby Digital plays
No DTS sound

a static sound plays at start of playback and the volume bar changes automatically for all of the above.

Also, pressing the "Action Menu" button on the remote puts MrMC into PIP mode - this is not normal behaviour.
Once this happens you can't access any settings and the remote becomes unresponsive.

This is with a 2017 Sony XE930 TV running Android TV 7.0.0

Guess I'll stick with the Apple TV :)

User avatar
koying
Team MrMC
Posts: 389
Joined: 20 Mar 2016, 17:49

Re: Sony Android TV Passthrough

Post by koying » 12 Jun 2018, 14:42

Could you share a debuglog ?

barong
Posts: 77
Joined: 07 Nov 2017, 07:33

Re: Sony Android TV Passthrough

Post by barong » 02 Jul 2018, 15:11

Sorry for the delayed response. I have stopped using the TV apps.
The lack of frame rate matching, audio issues and Sony’s general lack of proper android API support made it a no brainer.

I can try installing it again to get you logs otherwise I’ll leave it to someone else who is actively using the TV app.

User avatar
koying
Team MrMC
Posts: 389
Joined: 20 Mar 2016, 17:49

Re: Sony Android TV Passthrough

Post by koying » 03 Jul 2018, 06:31

Well, tested again yesterday and both DD and DTS work fine for me in IEC.
It's in "hack" mode, though, so that's why you see the volume bar because we have to fiddle with it.

Recommended is non-iec, but then you don't get DTS, so you have to disable it and use transcoding to DD.

Post Reply