Page 2 of 3

Re: Device Compatibility

Posted: 25 May 2018, 02:19
by RKCRLR
The Appstore on Amazon.com list the minimum operating system as Android 5.0.

Re: Device Compatibility

Posted: 25 May 2018, 14:00
by davilla
RKCRLR wrote:
25 May 2018, 02:19
The Appstore on Amazon.com list the minimum operating system as Android 5.0.
App developers are free to put the required Android version higher, that value just states the minimum accepted under the app store.

Re: Device Compatibility

Posted: 25 May 2018, 14:54
by wesk05
It is showing up as incompatible with all Amlogic boxes (running Android 7 or even 8). It is also incompatible for the Google Nexus player (Android 8).

Re: Device Compatibility

Posted: 26 May 2018, 01:39
by RKCRLR
Are any of your AMLogic devices on the Google approved manufactures list?

Re: Device Compatibility

Posted: 26 May 2018, 17:59
by wesk05
RKCRLR wrote:
26 May 2018, 01:39
Are any of your AMLogic devices on the Google approved manufactures list?
Good question! I had forgotten about the Mi Box which is a Google certified Amlogic box. Guess what, it does show up on that device.

Other paid apps do show up on the noncertified boxes. So, I'm not exactly sure what is going on with MrMC.

Re: Device Compatibility

Posted: 27 May 2018, 02:02
by RKCRLR
So I tried registering my device per the instructions in the link. MrMC still does not show up for me in Google Playstore.
However, Amazon let me purchase MrMC Lite. But it said I need to install it manually using Amazon Underground. I think Amazon Underground is now the Amazon App store. Either way I couldn't get it to show up as one of my apps so I couldn't figure out how to install it.

Re: Device Compatibility

Posted: 27 May 2018, 13:53
by davilla
RKCRLR wrote:
27 May 2018, 02:02
So I tried registering my device per the instructions in the link. MrMC still does not show up for me in Google Playstore.
However, Amazon let me purchase MrMC Lite. But it said I need to install it manually using Amazon Underground. I think Amazon Underground is now the Amazon App store. Either way I couldn't get it to show up as one of my apps so I couldn't figure out how to install it.
MrMC Lite is free, no purchase is required.

Re: Device Compatibility

Posted: 27 May 2018, 14:54
by RKCRLR
Yes, I "purchased" it for $0. I gives a warning that I may purchasing an app for a non-compatible device. It then tells me I need to install it manually by opening Amazon Underground, then go to Menu - My Apps - Cloud - Refresh to see app and install. Amazon Underground has been replaced by the Appstore app which I have. But MrMC Lite dows not show up in My Apps and there is no Cloud option I can find. Also, MrMC does not show up when I search the Appstore app.

Re: Device Compatibility

Posted: 27 May 2018, 15:17
by RKCRLR
wesk05 wrote:
26 May 2018, 17:59
RKCRLR wrote:
26 May 2018, 01:39
Are any of your AMLogic devices on the Google approved manufactures list?
Good question! I had forgotten about the Mi Box which is a Google certified Amlogic box. Guess what, it does show up on that device.

Other paid apps do show up on the noncertified boxes. So, I'm not exactly sure what is going on with MrMC.
This is interesting since the Mi box is an Android TV box. I wonder if it has something to with a combination on not being an Android TV box and being an AMLogic box.
Whatever the case, there is something screwy going on. If I search the Google Playstore with a Windows computer I can see both MrMC and MrMC Lite. It lists MrMC as compatible with my Galaxy S7 phone but MrMC Lite isn't compatible with any of my devices.

Re: Device Compatibility

Posted: 27 May 2018, 15:20
by RKCRLR
amet wrote:
24 May 2018, 13:32
Someone reported being unable to install on Shield with unlocked bootloader... is that what rooted means in android world?
Sort of. You need an unlocked bootloader to give root permissions.
Edit: I guess the above statement is incorrect. You can have a rooted device with a locked bootloader. I don't know if my bootloader is unlocked. My device came rooted from the factory.
I currently dual boot into LibreELEC from a SD card. I don't know if that means my bootloader is unlocked. I did not unlock it myself as far as I know.