1. No user installed addons are supported, python or otherwise.
2. No, they really are not supported.
3. They are not coming back
4. Read from 1. again

Any mention of illegal streaming sites, addons or any pirated material will not be tolerated. This is not democracy and any offenders will be banned and posts deleted immediately without warning.

Other than that, we hope you enjoy MrMC so far and we welcome any input and feedback you might have.

Team MrMC.

Hue bridge pairing

Report any issues you might have in here
Post Reply
Bsloss
Posts: 4
Joined: 21 Sep 2018, 04:11

Hue bridge pairing

Post by Bsloss » 21 Sep 2018, 04:19

I cannot get mrmc 3.7 (on Apple TV 4th gen) to pair with my hue bridge. Every time I open the pairing screen the timer stays stuck at 0% and no amount of pushing the link button will let mrmc see the bridge. Also mrmc freezes on that screen and will not return to the previous menu (app must be force quit each time).

I’m pretty new to the whole mrmc thing so hopefully I’m missing something simple. Any pointers would be appreciated!

User avatar
amet
Team MrMC
Posts: 2215
Joined: 26 Oct 2015, 16:59

Re: Hue bridge pairing

Post by amet » 21 Sep 2018, 05:21

Let’s see if debuglog has any info

Bsloss
Posts: 4
Joined: 21 Sep 2018, 04:11

Re: Hue bridge pairing

Post by Bsloss » 21 Sep 2018, 13:57

Here’s my debug log

https://pastebin.com/tVquRri1

User avatar
amet
Team MrMC
Posts: 2215
Joined: 26 Oct 2015, 16:59

Re: Hue bridge pairing

Post by amet » 21 Sep 2018, 14:12

Looks like you have 2 hue bridges, correct?

It’s possible that there is an error when pairing with 2 bridges, let’s see what @koying says

Bsloss
Posts: 4
Joined: 21 Sep 2018, 04:11

Re: Hue bridge pairing

Post by Bsloss » 21 Sep 2018, 15:42

i do have 2 bridges. After your comment I unplugged one and was able to pair successfully. I’m hoping that plugging the other one back in after pairing won’t break anything. I’ll report back if it does.

User avatar
koying
Team MrMC
Posts: 269
Joined: 20 Mar 2016, 17:49

Re: Hue bridge pairing

Post by koying » 21 Sep 2018, 16:42

Once the pairing is done, there shouldn't be a problem.

To be perfect, MrMC should present a list of hubs, but it's quite a bit of work for (I assume) the rare occurrence of having multiple hubs in the same network.

May I ask what is the use case of having 2 hubs?

Bsloss
Posts: 4
Joined: 21 Sep 2018, 04:11

Re: Hue bridge pairing

Post by Bsloss » 21 Sep 2018, 18:47

I have a lot of hue bulbs and accessories. There’s a limit of about 50 that you can pair with one bridge, and as you approach the limit bulbs are more likely to become unresponsive. I purchased a second hub when I started noticing slowdowns and moved my upstairs lights to their own bridge which completely solved the problem. On hue forums and the /r/hue subreddit it’s not uncommon to see setups with 2 or 3 hubs so that more bulbs and accessories can be added to one home.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests