1. No user installed addons are supported, python or otherwise.
2. No, they really are not supported.
3. They are not coming back
4. Read from 1. again

Any mention of illegal streaming sites, addons or any pirated material will not be tolerated. This is not democracy and any offenders will be banned and posts deleted immediately without warning.

Other than that, we hope you enjoy MrMC so far and we welcome any input and feedback you might have.

Team MrMC.

mySQL error 1045

Report any issues you might have in here
jabohn
Posts: 337
Joined: 20 Nov 2015, 18:53

Re: mySQL error 1045

Post by jabohn » 21 Jul 2018, 00:58

Thanks Tim. I had forgotten I had already run those commands last night. So now it enabled successfully in MrMC and I figure out what to do next as the instructions appear to end at setting up SQL on my computer.

Do I just go about and add a new source like usual, only now it silently stores in info in SQL?

User avatar
timstephens24
Posts: 645
Joined: 09 Dec 2015, 22:43

Re: mySQL error 1045

Post by timstephens24 » 21 Jul 2018, 01:20

Your sources should hopefully still be there, but yeah if they're not just add your sources and scan everything in. Now it'll all be stored on your MySQL server instead of locally on your Apple TV.

jabohn
Posts: 337
Joined: 20 Nov 2015, 18:53

Re: mySQL error 1045

Post by jabohn » 21 Jul 2018, 01:23

I had to delete my sources and start over right before doing this. I only added my TV sources before turning on SQL. What do I do to get that into SQL?

User avatar
timstephens24
Posts: 645
Joined: 09 Dec 2015, 22:43

Re: mySQL error 1045

Post by timstephens24 » 21 Jul 2018, 01:24

Long press on the source to get the context menu, and do a 'Set Content' (I think that's what it is) and set it as TV Shows.

jabohn
Posts: 337
Joined: 20 Nov 2015, 18:53

Re: mySQL error 1045

Post by jabohn » 21 Jul 2018, 01:28

Thanks Tim. So I told it to refresh and it's now scanning. Doing that, then adding my Movies source and it should be good?

User avatar
timstephens24
Posts: 645
Joined: 09 Dec 2015, 22:43

Re: mySQL error 1045

Post by timstephens24 » 21 Jul 2018, 01:33

Yup, you'll be all set!

jabohn
Posts: 337
Joined: 20 Nov 2015, 18:53

Re: mySQL error 1045

Post by jabohn » 21 Jul 2018, 03:27

Thanks for your help!

I had one observation since redoing my library, when I refresh the new source, in the bottom left corner is says "MAC failed" and then my computer name JMAC failed. But the library otherwise refreshes and works properly. I've never seen that before. I added the source using the Windows Network (SMB) choice.

jabohn
Posts: 337
Joined: 20 Nov 2015, 18:53

Re: mySQL error 1045

Post by jabohn » 21 Jul 2018, 03:38

Since the instructions in the Wiki are incomplete and incorrect for setting up on a Mac, here are the final steps I used to get this working, so it's all in one place should anyone need it in the future:

Setup Instructions for MySQL on a Mac:
1. Download a copy of MySQL server from http://dev.mysql.com/downloads/mysql/ and install it.
2. In macOS, go to System Preferences -> MySQL, and click on “Start MySQL Server”. You’ll also want to tick to enable the “Automatically … on Startup” option.
3. Now to set up the "mrmc" user in MySQL and give it access. Launch Terminal.app on your Mac and issue the following commands, one line at a time:

Code: Select all

/usr/local/mysql/bin/mysql -u root -p
<Insert MySQL root password>
CREATE USER 'mrmc' IDENTIFIED BY 'mrmc';
GRANT ALL ON *.* TO 'mrmc';
exit
4. Now go into MrMC -> Settings -> Services -> MySQL Client
5. In the server field, enter the IP address from your Mac. It can be found on your Mac in System Preferences -> Network.
6. In username and password fields, put mrmc
7. Check Enable at the top of the screen.
8. Now add your sources as usual and you're good to go.

Someone please correct me if I got anything wrong!

User avatar
davilla
Team MrMC
Posts: 3461
Joined: 26 Oct 2015, 17:01

Re: mySQL error 1045

Post by davilla » 21 Jul 2018, 13:47

jabohn wrote:
21 Jul 2018, 03:27
Thanks for your help!

I had one observation since redoing my library, when I refresh the new source, in the bottom left corner is says "MAC failed" and then my computer name JMAC failed. But the library otherwise refreshes and works properly. I've never seen that before. I added the source using the Windows Network (SMB) choice.
debuglog would show the error.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests