1. No user installed addons are supported, python or otherwise.
2. No, they really are not supported.
3. They are not coming back
4. Read from 1. again

Any mention of illegal streaming sites, addons or any pirated material will not be tolerated. This is not democracy and any offenders will be banned and posts deleted immediately without warning.

Other than that, we hope you enjoy MrMC so far and we welcome any input and feedback you might have.

Team MrMC.

"Server - MrMc" -- what is this option?

Any issues that are FireTV specific
Post Reply
sirmcftv
Posts: 42
Joined: 25 Jul 2017, 16:33

"Server - MrMc" -- what is this option?

Post by sirmcftv » 29 Oct 2018, 19:06

Haven't looked at the MrMC software updates in a while. I now see an icon at the bottom that says "Server - MrMC" and when I click on it I get a list with a single choice MrMC. What other servers could show up in there? I do have Plex client configured and logged in, but not sure if it's considered a "server".

User avatar
pecinko
Team MrMC
Posts: 198
Joined: 02 Dec 2015, 10:55

Re: "Server - MrMc" -- what is this option?

Post by pecinko » 29 Oct 2018, 19:37

Mrmc, Plex and/or Emby can appear as servers of media content.

User avatar
davilla
Team MrMC
Posts: 3726
Joined: 26 Oct 2015, 17:01

Re: "Server - MrMc" -- what is this option?

Post by davilla » 29 Oct 2018, 19:51

sirmcftv wrote:
29 Oct 2018, 19:06
Haven't looked at the MrMC software updates in a while. I now see an icon at the bottom that says "Server - MrMC" and when I click on it I get a list with a single choice MrMC. What other servers could show up in there? I do have Plex client configured and logged in, but not sure if it's considered a "server".
Which Plex client, the internal client or the extension ? Only the internal emby/plex client will show up in that list.

sirmcftv
Posts: 42
Joined: 25 Jul 2017, 16:33

Re: "Server - MrMc" -- what is this option?

Post by sirmcftv » 29 Oct 2018, 20:40

Hmm, I had no idea there were two ... I disabled the extension and I'm signed in to the Plex Client. Still not seeing a Plex server in the list :( My Plex server is only accessible on the LAN, is that supposed to work? This is all very confusing :(

sirmcftv
Posts: 42
Joined: 25 Jul 2017, 16:33

Re: "Server - MrMc" -- what is this option?

Post by sirmcftv » 18 Nov 2018, 21:11

No ideas why the Plex server does not show up on the list?

Or, let me ask a different way: what is the best (proper?) setup when all the media files sit on a Linux server (local LAN) that shares via NFS and also there's a Plex server running on the same server?

User avatar
timstephens24
Posts: 764
Joined: 09 Dec 2015, 22:43

Re: "Server - MrMc" -- what is this option?

Post by timstephens24 » 18 Nov 2018, 21:46

I generally use Plex since the updates are a lot faster. NFS isn't a bad option, but you have to wait for it to scrub in new files every time the app is opened or you have it update the library.

In 'Settings -> Services -> Plex Client' does that show you logged in to Plex?
Apple TV 4K / NVIDIA Shield -> Denon X6500H 7.2.4 -> LG OLED65C6P
Channels DVR w/ HDHomeRun Connect Quattro
Patiently Testing all the things // Multiple other devices
##### SYNOLOGY 1815+ #####

sirmcftv
Posts: 42
Joined: 25 Jul 2017, 16:33

Re: "Server - MrMc" -- what is this option?

Post by sirmcftv » 18 Nov 2018, 21:53

timstephens24 wrote:
18 Nov 2018, 21:46
I generally use Plex since the updates are a lot faster. NFS isn't a bad option, but you have to wait for it to scrub in new files every time the app is opened or you have it update the library.

In 'Settings -> Services -> Plex Client' does that show you logged in to Plex?
Yes, it does, I did the linking with PIN. This is an old install of the app and it's been configured to use NFS for a while now. Not sure whether there are conflicts between the 2 when both are configured. I'd expect under "Server" to see MrMC and perhaps also Plex and be able to switch between them -- is that not how it's supposed to work? But only MrMC shows up, no sign of the Plex server. I hope that the Plex server doesn't need to have remote access enabled as I don't want to do that.
I can try to uninstall and reinstall the MrMC app and start fresh by configuring Plex only, but I'd like to avoid redoing the rest of the settings.

User avatar
timstephens24
Posts: 764
Joined: 09 Dec 2015, 22:43

Re: "Server - MrMc" -- what is this option?

Post by timstephens24 » 19 Nov 2018, 02:19

It probably needs remote access to verify the client at least once.
Apple TV 4K / NVIDIA Shield -> Denon X6500H 7.2.4 -> LG OLED65C6P
Channels DVR w/ HDHomeRun Connect Quattro
Patiently Testing all the things // Multiple other devices
##### SYNOLOGY 1815+ #####

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest