1. No user installed addons are supported, python or otherwise.
2. No, they really are not supported.
3. They are not coming back
4. Read from 1. again

Any mention of illegal streaming sites, addons or any pirated material will not be tolerated. This is not democracy and any offenders will be banned and posts deleted immediately without warning.

Other than that, we hope you enjoy MrMC so far and we welcome any input and feedback you might have.

Team MrMC.

DOLBY ATMOS in IOS 12

Any issues that are tvOS specific
Hansel
Posts: 59
Joined: 15 Nov 2015, 09:54

Re: DOLBY ATMOS in IOS 12

Post by Hansel » 03 Sep 2018, 22:49

While we're chatting I wonder if you could clarify something for me (which would certainly influence my decision to keep the ATV), as I admit to being confused by all this audio stuff, at least when it comes to PCM etc

My setup is as follows:

ATV 4K (MrMC with the Plex plugin)
Marantz AVR
5.1.4 speakers (for Atmos)

I also have a Vero4K which I've been using up until now (full audio support).

If I play say a DTS:X encoded movie through the Vero, my amp will show all speakers used (including the ceilings) and DTS:X as the input, as you'd expect. In MrMC on the ATV, I select 5.1 speakers in the Audio Setup section (not sure if I should select 7.1 to account for the ceiling speakers to be honest, at least when Atmos support is released?) but as the ATV can't handle DTS:X the amp shows the 5.1 speakers used, and Multi Channel In - PCM as the input. Am I correct in thinking that this PCM input is really just DTS-HD MA? So it's still the same quality of audio, it's just missing the height channels?

More simply I suppose, if I were to play a regular DTS movie, I'd still see the same Multi Channel PCM display, but it would actually be the exact same sound coming out?

There's just something psychological when you can't see the name of the audio on the amp that makes me question if it's of the same quality or not, at least for someone like me who doesn't have a good grasp of how PCM etc works.

Thanks!

cosmoxl
Posts: 1396
Joined: 12 Dec 2015, 14:16

Re: DOLBY ATMOS in IOS 12

Post by cosmoxl » 03 Sep 2018, 23:08

Since at lot of audio these days is 7.1 I'd set MrMC to 7.1 so that your receiver does the combining of surround channels to fit your setup.

Yes, what you are getting is TrueHD or DTS HD Ma decoded by MrMC and sent as PCM.

Hansel
Posts: 59
Joined: 15 Nov 2015, 09:54

Re: DOLBY ATMOS in IOS 12

Post by Hansel » 04 Sep 2018, 01:51

Ok great, thanks. So, assuming they implement Atmos "properly" and MrMC etc can utilise it, I'd just be missing out on the object audio in DTS:X files. I can probably live with that.

TheBrother
Posts: 5
Joined: 08 Oct 2017, 12:42

Re: DOLBY ATMOS in IOS 12

Post by TheBrother » 04 Sep 2018, 06:54

yesterday I fired up "Jack Ryan" on Amazon Prime - and Voila Audio is Dolby Atmos via Apple TV :D

Hansel
Posts: 59
Joined: 15 Nov 2015, 09:54

Re: DOLBY ATMOS in IOS 12

Post by Hansel » 04 Sep 2018, 07:10

TheBrother wrote:yesterday I fired up "Jack Ryan" on Amazon Prime - and Voila Audio is Dolby Atmos via Apple TV :D
Yeah it's weird. Some people on Reddit also got Atmos from Jack Ryan whereas others (including me) don't. I'll try it again tonight.

(On the latest beta obviously).

Old-Toast
Posts: 21
Joined: 12 Dec 2015, 13:39

Re: DOLBY ATMOS in IOS 12

Post by Old-Toast » 12 Sep 2018, 22:21

From what I've heard (though no solid confirmation), the AppleTV uses Dolby MAT which is essentially PCM audio + Atmos metadata, this only works with HDMI pass-through to a Dolby Atmos sound system.

It may not do Dolby Digital Plus 5.1 with Atmos over ARC which is how some get Atmos working on other platforms.

Hansel
Posts: 59
Joined: 15 Nov 2015, 09:54

Re: DOLBY ATMOS in IOS 12

Post by Hansel » 12 Sep 2018, 23:35

Updating the Netflix app on the ATV now puts out Atmos. Still nothing for Amazon Prime though.

User avatar
loekf2
Posts: 102
Joined: 26 Nov 2015, 09:48

Re: DOLBY ATMOS in IOS 12

Post by loekf2 » 17 Sep 2018, 20:06

Hansel wrote:
12 Sep 2018, 23:35
Updating the Netflix app on the ATV now puts out Atmos. Still nothing for Amazon Prime though.
Firecore somehow fixed the passthru issue. I think they just output PCM if you enable passthru.

Netflix and Atmos is interesting. Looks like the AppleTV is getting it, but the description in the app is saying 5.1.

Hansel
Posts: 59
Joined: 15 Nov 2015, 09:54

Re: DOLBY ATMOS in IOS 12

Post by Hansel » 17 Sep 2018, 20:10

loekf2 wrote:
Hansel wrote:
12 Sep 2018, 23:35
Updating the Netflix app on the ATV now puts out Atmos. Still nothing for Amazon Prime though.
Firecore somehow fixed the passthru issue. I think they just output PCM if you enable passthru.

Netflix and Atmos is interesting. Looks like the AppleTV is getting it, but the description in the app is saying 5.1.
A few people have seen that issue. Sometimes doing a restart sorts it out and you'll start to see the Atmos labels as well

User avatar
timstephens24
Posts: 728
Joined: 09 Dec 2015, 22:43

Re: DOLBY ATMOS in IOS 12

Post by timstephens24 » 17 Sep 2018, 21:08

loekf2 wrote:
17 Sep 2018, 20:06
Hansel wrote:
12 Sep 2018, 23:35
Updating the Netflix app on the ATV now puts out Atmos. Still nothing for Amazon Prime though.
Firecore somehow fixed the passthru issue. I think they just output PCM if you enable passthru.

Netflix and Atmos is interesting. Looks like the AppleTV is getting it, but the description in the app is saying 5.1.
They didn't "fix it" it's actually not outputting audio correctly at all.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests