1. No user installed addons are supported, python or otherwise.
2. No, they really are not supported.
3. They are not coming back
4. Read from 1. again

Any mention of illegal streaming sites, addons or any pirated material will not be tolerated. This is not democracy and any offenders will be banned and posts deleted immediately without warning.

Other than that, we hope you enjoy MrMC so far and we welcome any input and feedback you might have.

Team MrMC.

Passthrough issue

Any issues that are tvOS specific
TaZZi2k
Posts: 2
Joined: 31 Mar 2018, 21:14

Re: Passthrough issue

Post by TaZZi2k » 30 May 2018, 07:25

tvOS 11.4 is out. Hope they fix the Problem. Waiting for the Change Log.

User avatar
timstephens24
Posts: 728
Joined: 09 Dec 2015, 22:43

Re: Passthrough issue

Post by timstephens24 » 30 May 2018, 12:08

They didn’t.

cosmoxl
Posts: 1396
Joined: 12 Dec 2015, 14:16

Re: Passthrough issue

Post by cosmoxl » 30 May 2018, 13:30

TaZZi2k wrote:
30 May 2018, 07:25
tvOS 11.4 is out. Hope they fix the Problem. Waiting for the Change Log.
Nope. Davilla posted somewhere in this forum a link to a VLC bug report saying that VLC had received word from Apple that passthrough will not be "fixed".

User avatar
loekf2
Posts: 102
Joined: 26 Nov 2015, 09:48

Re: Passthrough issue

Post by loekf2 » 30 May 2018, 20:28

Then I am very curious how they will ever support Atmos. AFAIK Atmos requires that the decoder knows the speaker config, unless they ignore whether someone e.g. has a 5.2.1 (two upfiring speakers) and just decode for 5.1 or 7.1 to PCM.

Hopefully next week more news, when they will say something about tvOS 12.0

cosmoxl
Posts: 1396
Joined: 12 Dec 2015, 14:16

Re: Passthrough issue

Post by cosmoxl » 30 May 2018, 21:20

loekf2 wrote:
30 May 2018, 20:28
Then I am very curious how they will ever support Atmos. AFAIK Atmos requires that the decoder knows the speaker config, unless they ignore whether someone e.g. has a 5.2.1 (two upfiring speakers) and just decode for 5.1 or 7.1 to PCM.

Hopefully next week more news, when they will say something about tvOS 12.0
They may not ever support Atmos. Perhaps they told a little white lie to get people to buy the box. That's what we're all wondering I think.

User avatar
timstephens24
Posts: 728
Joined: 09 Dec 2015, 22:43

Re: Passthrough issue

Post by timstephens24 » 30 May 2018, 21:44

loekf2 wrote:
30 May 2018, 20:28
Then I am very curious how they will ever support Atmos. AFAIK Atmos requires that the decoder knows the speaker config, unless they ignore whether someone e.g. has a 5.2.1 (two upfiring speakers) and just decode for 5.1 or 7.1 to PCM.

Hopefully next week more news, when they will say something about tvOS 12.0
I think a lot of people are hopefully for Atmos next week, especially people like me since I have a 7.1.4 system (4 in the ceiling - still need a new receiver for the back 2 so I'm running 7.1.2 right now).
cosmoxl wrote:
30 May 2018, 21:20
They may not ever support Atmos. Perhaps they told a little white lie to get people to buy the box. That's what we're all wondering I think.
They actually didn't say anything about the Apple TV 4K supporting it specifically, they just said was that Atmos was on their roadmap for tvOS, but they didn't give a timeline or anything so it could realistically be 3 years away.

User avatar
davilla
Team MrMC
Posts: 3586
Joined: 26 Oct 2015, 17:01

Re: Passthrough issue

Post by davilla » 30 May 2018, 22:07

Well, Apple could implement Atmos yet not expose a public API for it. They already do that to some degree with eac3. Eac3 is a little funny, it can be either 48kHz or 192kHz but most content needs the 192 kHz sample rate. Yet the public API does not support 192 kHz, only up to 48kHz and I know it can internally do 192 kHz... There's a launch test that MrMC does a check for 192 kHz support and that never passes :)

Premux
Posts: 13
Joined: 09 Jan 2016, 21:46

Re: Passthrough issue

Post by Premux » 16 Jun 2018, 22:25

hi guys,

any idea if this problem will be solved ? my set up is

from APTV4 HMDI ---> TV
from APTV4 optical audio ---> Bose soundsystem
Bose soundsystem ---> tv through HDMI

Unit settings

- tvos sound = DD
- Mr MC passthrough closed

still the same static noise that comes back every 5 or 10 sec.

I dont care about the quality lose but that static noise makes it unwatchable. I have this problem only with MrMC.
Youtube or Netflix works like a charm. I dont use infuse or plex.

User avatar
davilla
Team MrMC
Posts: 3586
Joined: 26 Oct 2015, 17:01

Re: Passthrough issue

Post by davilla » 17 Jun 2018, 00:15

Premux wrote:
16 Jun 2018, 22:25
hi guys,

any idea if this problem will be solved ? my set up is

from APTV4 HMDI ---> TV
from APTV4 optical audio ---> Bose soundsystem
Bose soundsystem ---> tv through HDMI

Unit settings

- tvos sound = DD
- Mr MC passthrough closed

still the same static noise that comes back every 5 or 10 sec.

I dont care about the quality lose but that static noise makes it unwatchable. I have this problem only with MrMC.
Youtube or Netflix works like a charm. I dont use infuse or plex.
Disable passthrough, Apple broke it. That's what this thread is all about. Apple broke it, only Apple can fix it.

smhealey
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Jun 2018, 18:05

Re: Passthrough issue

Post by smhealey » 19 Jun 2018, 18:33

A little more info from the "Infuse guy"

" astirling wrote:
"The guys behind MrMC claim that Apple has told them this isn’t coming back."

" James wrote:
They are likely referring to a note from the VLC devs in which they claim Apple told them passthrough wasn't supported. I've seen the original VLC email (and Apple's response) and can tell you with absolute certainty they were asking the wrong question, and as a result the Apple rep simply directed them to submit a feature request.
As of today, our bug report with Apple is still open. We've submitted full technical details about the issue, and Apple asked for additional info in a follow-up - which seems to indicate the issue was introduced inadvertently, and they have at least some interest in fixing it.
If/when Apple actually intends to fix this is unclear, but at this point there is no reason to believe this change was intentional. It's also possible this change is part of larger, more sweeping audio related changes coming in tvOS 12, so we'll have to see what Apple introduces in the betas coming later this summer.🤞"

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests